Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Fun Freetime: American Football Coaches Association Awards Show

The American Football Coaches Association® (AFCA®) will give college football fans the opportunity see the first-ever televised American Football Coaches Awards Show January 10 in Nashville, Tennessee. The one-hour live show will air on CBS Sports Network at 9 p.m. EST from the Grand Ole Opry House.
The American Football Coaches Awards will also feature a special 30th anniversary presentation of the AFCA Coaches’ Trophy, which will be presented to the No. 1 team in the Amway Coaches Poll. The iconic Waterford® Crystal football, affectionately known as the “Crystal Ball”, has been awarded to the national champion since its inception in 1986 and has been made available to all Coaches Poll winners since 1950.
In addition to presenting the AFCA Coaches’ Trophy and FBS Coach of the Year, the show will feature other prominent and prestigious awards including the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award, FBS Regional Coaches of the Year, FCS National Coach of the Year, Play Call of the Year, and Comeback Coach of the Year.
About the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 11,000 members around the world ranging from high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and in the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football.”

No comments:

Post a Comment