Tuesday, September 7, 2021

Book Nook: Partly Cloudy

 


Partly Cloudy by Tanita S. Davis 

On sale 9/7/21, Katherine Tegen Books 


Ages: 8-12

Perfect for fans of A Good Kind of Trouble and From the Desk of Zoe Washington

 

From award-winning author Tanita S. Davis comes a nuanced exploration of the microaggressions of middle school and a young Black girl named Madalyn who learns that being a good friend means dealing with the blue skies and the rain—and having the tough conversations on days that are partly cloudy. As the only Black girl in her class, most of the kids are friendly but when one potential new friend shares that she’s scared of Black boys, Madalyn doesn’t know what to think! Partly Cloudy explores the breadth and possibilities of friendship – that it doesn’t only mean hanging out with people who like us or who are like us.

 

  • 📝 In the author’s words: “Partly Cloudy arose from my belief that even two totally different people can still be true friends…Madalyn has to decide if a friendship with someone so different from herself is something even worth having.
  • Tanita S. Davis the award-winning author of seven novels for middle grade and young adult readers, including Serena SaysPeas and CarrotsHappy Families, and Mare’s War, which was a Coretta Scott King Award Honor and earned her a nomination for the NAACP Image Award. Learn more at http://tanitasdavis.com.

1 comment: